The Trouble With Autism

autism sparkles-147

I am hesitant to confine my son to labels.
Yes, labels do serve a purpose with insurance, therapies and school districts but they also have this pesky way of defining and confining based on inaccurate definitions and beliefs in a world that simply refuses to see beyond the letters of a word they don’t understand.

Autism is a big word. Just six letters but every single one of those six letters seems to be weighted down with inaccuracies and apologies by those who fail to see it fully. I wish others could see more than just the letters of the word. I wish they could see just how deeply I mean it when I say different is not less and autism is brilliant if you let it be.

Autism is so often a term spoken with great prejudice by people who keep perpetuating those old and tired stereotypes that inevitably try to confine my boy into a world of can’ts and won’ts while they fail to see the brilliance and sparkle that fills his spectrum.

I wish the world could take a large step back and see the brilliance in those letters.
I wish, for just one moment, the world could see and feel autism through my eyes because, if they did…if they saw autism through my eyes, I would never see another apologetic set of eyes looking back at me.

Autism is brilliant, my friends. Simply brilliant.
Not perfect.
Not always easy.
Not always simple
But always brilliant.  Always, always, always brilliant.

Sparkle On, my friends.

5 thoughts on “The Trouble With Autism

  1. Amen – my daughter is awesome and she will be the first one to tell you that – I get very tired of people telling me what she can and can not do when they haven’t even met her and only see her diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

