The Gobsmacking Moment

Wyatt-1
So, as I’ve told you, I’ve struggled with my boy starting high school this year. Sometimes as mom starts stepping back and letting the boy step up, I feel like maybe I am not doing enough, not on top of it all, not in the “know”. When his report card came and there were mostly As and Bs, I felt better but the C in math was a concern. Naturally, I went to the spectrum kiddo to discuss where he is and what struggles he might be feeling.
I will also be honest in telling you, math has never been my happy place.
Our conversation went exactly like this:
Mom: How’s math going?
Spectrum kiddo: It’s good.
Mom: The C in math makes me think we might have some struggles. You had an A last grading period.
Spectrum kiddo: Yeah. I know. I’m really not sure, Mom.
Mom: Can you show me what you’re doing in math? Do you understand all of it?
Spectrum kiddo: I think so. Yeah, sure, I’ll show you.My boy then picks up a yellow post-it note. The exact yellow post-it at the top of the page.  He asks, “Can I write on this?” I tell him sure. He then writes the equation you see on the yellow post-it.
Yeah. That’s HIS writing.

And then he says “This is what we’re doing in math.”
Mom: What is that?
Spectrum kiddo: It’s point slope and slope intercept form.
Mom: And you understand all of that?
Mom: Oh yeah. I understand all of it.

G-O-B-S-M-A-C-K-E-D.

And that is when mom closed the jaw that was hanging wide open on her face and left the boy alone because his math skills have FAR exceeded my own. And I walked away in a daze remembering all the abysmal evaluation reports from so long ago with my boy’s name on top that said he wouldn’t and he couldn’t be any of the things he is NOW and yet he IS and he DID and he COULD and I’m so glad I never listened to the can’ts and the won’ts.

Who they are at three and five and seven is not who they will be at 15.  Trust me.And, seriously, Do NOT tell me autism is not sparkly and brilliant.  It is…every single day.
Sparkle On, my friends.

 

One thought on “The Gobsmacking Moment

  1. Sparkle-TASTIC!
    My fella just started 7th grade and I nearly had a nervous breakdown. However, it seems to be going very well..socially…which is a …surprise. EXCEPT HIS GRADES. He was the top math student in his grade last year and now was failing until he turned in all his stuff that he had done but had left floating around in various places. now he has a C. Sigh. But he’s happy. going to let him coast for a bit longer…
    Love,

Leave a Reply

