The Color of Autism

autism sparkles-64

I am not sure why or who decided autism is blue. Although my spectrum kiddo is a boy and I guess that’s blue, a lot of spectrum kiddos are a most definite shade of girlie pink.

I am not sure why a puzzle piece is front and center because my guy has nothing missing.

I don’t know how blue light for a day will make autism better or more defined.  I wish we could have a light bulb in the kind of color that would help spread tolerance or a packet of seeds and a lump of dirt that would grow kindness or a fan that would blow a wave of understanding about the world.

I don’t think lighting the world blue is bad, I just think it is very limiting.  Autism needs so much more but I appreciate that awareness now has a beginning.

8 thoughts on “The Color of Autism

  1. Opinion only: Blue is a calming color. A puzzle piece could represnt the small but EXTREMELY important and necessary part of a very beautiful picture that I get to see revealed to me every day in the new things my son does. Finally, for such a diverse community that spans every part of the globe will there ever be a symbol that makes everyone happy. Awareness is just the positive start to so many things if we can just use our powers for good.

    unity

  2. Well said. Unity in the autism community matters SO much but I am not sure the puzzle piece will ever unite the autism community. Unfortunately, many in the autistic community, adults and parents alike don’t identify with or find the symbol offensive. Hopefully, one day soon, we can find a symbol that the adult autistic friends feel represent them well :).

  3. Hey there! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

