Reasons To Love Autism: Moment # 72

Interesting insight to my son this morning and I had to share. At times on the weekend, for one of the days, I will skip meds. We don’t have a choice during the week but, since our meds are an appetite suppressant, having a good food day to boost his weight is important too… especially when we are just hanging at home. This is a question I have never asked him before.

Mom: Would you like to skip meds today or take them? It’s the weekend and we can just hang out today.

My Boy:   I’ll take them.

*I was a little curious that he would choose them so I continued.*
Mom:   Why would you choose to take them if you don’t have to?
My Boy:  Because it makes me stable.
*”Stable”.  That was the word he chose.  I have changed nothing in his wording.  I was more than a little shocked by this statement, so I decided to ask more questions. *
Mom: Do you feel different if you take them?
My Boy: Naw, it just makes me not goof around and be silly.
Mom: Do you not like that?
My Boy: I like it better when I am stable and not goofy.
Our speech is stills somewhat impaired even at 13 and we are not often so deep or insightful …so this opening up and this responsive observation truly knocked my socks off and soothed my heart ♥.

2 thoughts on “Reasons To Love Autism: Moment # 72

  1. I am so happy for you both. I have high hopes that some day soon Caleb(5) my son and I will have a conversation.
    Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

